top of page
Featured Posts

3D Modeling World (Virtual Reality)

Lately I've been spending a lot of time in the virtual world of 3D simulation through Cinema 4D application and composting in After Effects. I subscribed for online training lessons on sites suchs as Lynda.com and digitaltutors.com to expand my knowledge with these tools. I'm fascinated by how I can cross over my experience and skills of photography/cinematography and carry them over into 3D modeling with camera configurations, lense choices, light setups, and framing compositions. I plan to integrate these tools with my photography with green screen shoots and digital manipulations through Photoshop; while also extending my visual FX world in the video arena.

Here are a few stills I created of chrome like orbs hovering over an endless brick pavement in both day and night scenes. I first created the sphere shaped polygons, added a specific amount of reflection in its material, added a ground with brick texture, and then its skies. In the night scene I added a spot light over the orb resting on the ground. I then took them over into After Effects and added some level adjustments, optical flares, and vignetting. Although I handled the optical flares differently in both day and night scenes, it amazes me how different of a feeling I get between the day and night images of the same exact scene staging and composition.

Day scene rendered from Cinema 4D:

Day scene rendered from After Effects:

Night Scene rendered from After Effects:


Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page